Victory for the Exiles11-02-2019

Victory for the Exiles

London 2 - 10 Wexford 0 - 08 

A resilient second-half display saw Deely’s men over the line in a comprehensive victory over Wexford McGovern Park Ruislip February 10th 

Wexford took the lead early in the match thanks to John Tubritt. The Londoners quickly replied with a score from captain Liam Gavaghan. The game was tit for tat through-out the first half. With both teams trading points Mark Gottsche came close to landing the first big blow for London, when his powerful strike was cruelly denied by the crossbar. Wexford retaliate with thanks to Johnathan Bealin as they tried to take control of the game.

London looked like a team possessed to get points on the board with trojan help from David Dunne scoring a vital point. Strong work from Killian Butler reduced the difference to a point at half time, which left London with all the momentum and the strong wind in the second half.

The home side started out the blocks much quicker than Wexford in the second half, as Butler and Conor Doran helped them push in front. The Leinster side kept in touching distance with a point from Brian Malone.

Following the tremendous possession play from London, a quick counter attack allowed Killian Butler to be played into space and he rattled home the exiles first goal.

Impact sub Ciaran Houlihan made the perfect influence on the game as he too found the net immediately following his introduction. The second goal sealed the yellow bellies fate as they looked deflated. However, the relentless Londoners pushed on to win by a comfortable eight points.

London will be full of confidence going into their next challenge, away to a strong Antrim side.

London: Gavin McEvoy, Philip Butler, Michael Clarke, Matthew Moynihan, David Carrabine, Aidan McGarvey, Ryan Jones, Ryan Forde, Liam Gavaghan, (0-5, 3f), Conor O’Neill, Mark Gottsche, Barry Tully, Conor Doran (0-2, 1f), David Dunne (0-1), Killian Butler (1-2).

Subs: Adrian Hanlon for Forde (45min), Eoin Flanagan for Jones (52min), Pierce McGirr for Dunne (56min), Ciaran Houlihan (1-0) for Doran (66min) Liam Gallagher for Tully (70min)

Wexford: Matt Doyle, Michael Furlong, Mark O’Neill, Conor Carty, Brain Malone (0-1), Shane Doyle, Martin O’Connor, Daithi Waters, Niall Hughes, Kevin O’Grady (0-1), Johnathan Bealin (0-5f), Eoghan Nolan, Barry O’Connor, Eoin Porter, John Tubritt (0-1).

Subs: David Shannon for O’Connor (26min), Ben Brosnan for Tubritt (43min), Robert Fryne for O’Grady (52min), Michael O’Regan for Shannon (52min), Tiarnan Rossiter for Porter (66min).